Water activities

DIAL, the GPS alert bracelet connected to the sea rescue service

Watersports enthusiasts know that a fall into the sea can quickly happen and prolonged immersion in the water can be fatal.

With DIAL, reassure your loved ones and leave with a free spirit!

Why equip yourself with DIAL when you go out to sea?

Based on its experience, the SNSM in association with ido-data and Philippe Starck imagined DIAL, an Individual Alert and Locating Device connected to the emergency services adapted to the practice of water sports and activities (coastal sailing, water sports, swimming...) in order to :

To have a reliable means of location adapted to the practice of nautical leisure activities

During its interventions, the SNSM unfortunately notes that practitioners are rarely equipped with devices that would make it possible to communicate their distress situation and to locate them so that they can be rescued as quickly as possible.

Reduce rescue response times: with DIAL, rescue time has been divided by 3 (a DIAL wearer is rescued in less than 30 minutes on average).

If the SNSM rescuers leave in less than twenty minutes, the time between the alert and the intervention in the area can be counted in hours.

Transmit very easily a geolocalised alert to his relatives and to the sea rescue services in case of difficulty.

Persons at risk at sea may, due to weather conditions or stress, have great difficulty locating themselves correctly. This is particularly true because they do not always have a VHF radio and are often without means of locating themselves at sea. Drift due to currents and winds can be significant, which lengthens the search time.

How does the organisation of sea rescue in France work?

In France, the organisation of rescue services at sea is handled by the Centres Opérationnels de Surveillance et de Sauvetage (CROSS), which act under the responsibility of the Maritime Prefects and coordinate all rescue actions off our coasts. They rely on the intervention capabilities of the Société Nationale de Sauvetage en Mer (SNSM), or rely on other players present at sea or who can be mobilized to rescue people in difficulty at sea as quickly as possible (fisheries, merchant navy, French Navy, Civil Security, yachting, etc.). In addition, the mayors of the coastal municipalities are responsible for the surveillance of beaches and bathing areas, up to a limit of 300 metres from the shore. The municipalities call upon the rescue swimmers of the SNSM or the French Federation of Rescue and First Aid (FFSS), the Fire Brigade of the Departmental Fire and Rescue Services (SDIS) or the CRS.

The SNSM's Sauveteurs en Mer carry out 50% of the rescues coordinated by the CROSSes and monitor 35% of the coastal beaches from the first aid posts on the beaches, under the responsibility of the mayors of the communes. 

How does DIAL work at sea?

share your location with the emergency services in case of a problem

1
The wearer of the DIAL bracelet is in trouble, he triggers an alert...

2
Referrers receive the alert on their smartphone and share it with CROSSes.

3
The rescue team localises the person in difficulty thanks to a dedicated interface

4
The Sea Rescue quickly takes action to save the person.

DIAL adapts to all your nautical activities

DIAL has been designed primarily for nautical activities in the coastal approach (small yachts, dinghy, windsurfing, kitesurfing, stand-up paddle, inflatable and swimming) and for the beach.

Discover our ambassadors

Activités nautiques

DIAL, le bracelet d’alerte GPS connecté aux secours en mer

Les adeptes d’activités nautiques le savent : une chute à la mer est vite arrivée et une immersion prolongée dans l’eau peut s’avérer fatale.

Avec DIAL, rassurez vos proches et partez l'esprit libre !

Pourquoi vous équiper de DIAL lors de vos sorties en mer ?

Forte de son expérience, la SNSM en association avec ido-data et Philippe Starck a imaginé DIAL, un Dispositif Individuel d’Alerte et de Localisation connecté aux secours adapté à la pratique des sports et activités nautiques (plaisance côtière, loisirs nautiques, baignade…) afin de :

Disposer d’un moyen de localisation fiable et adapté à la pratique des loisirs nautiques

Au cours de ses interventions, la SNSM constate malheureusement que les pratiquants sont rarement équipés de dispositifs qui permettraient de communiquer leur situation de détresse et de les localiser afin qu’ils puissent être secourus le plus rapidement possible.

Réduire les délais d’intervention des secours : avec DIAL, le temps de sauvetage a été divisé par 3 (un porteur de DIAL est secouru en moins de 30 min en moyenne)

Si les sauveteurs de la SNSM appareillent en moins de vingt minutes, le délai qui sépare l’alerte de l’intervention sur zone peut se compter en heures.

Transmettre très facilement une alerte géolocalisée à ses proches et aux secours en mer en cas de difficulté

Les personnes en danger en mer peuvent, en raison des conditions météo ou du stress, éprouver de grandes difficultés à se localiser correctement. D’autant qu’elles ne disposent pas toujours de radio VHF et sont souvent dépourvues de moyens de localisation en mer. Les dérives liées aux courants et aux vents peuvent être importantes, ce qui rallonge d’autant les délais de recherche.

Comment fonctionne l'oganisation des secours en mer en France ?

En France, l’organisation des services de secours en mer est prise en charge par les Centres Opérationnels de Surveillance et de Sauvetage (CROSS) qui agissent sous la responsabilité des préfets maritimes et coordonnent l’ensemble des actions de sauvetage au large de nos côtes. Ils s’appuient sur les capacités d’intervention de la Société Nationale de Sauvetage en Mer (SNSM), ou comptent sur d’autres acteurs présents en mer ou mobilisables pour secourir au plus tôt les personnes en difficulté en mer (pêches, marine de commerce, Marine Nationale, Sécurité Civile, plaisance…). Par ailleurs, les maires des communes du littoral portent la responsabilité de la surveillance des plages et des zones de bains, dans la limite de 300 mètres à partir du rivage. Les municipalités font appel aux nageurs-sauveteurs de la SNSM ou de la Fédération Française de Sauvetage et de Secourisme (FFSS), aux Sapeurs-Pompiers des Services Départementaux d’Incendie et de Secours (SDIS) ou aux CRS.

Les Sauveteurs en Mer de la SNSM réalisent 50% des sauvetages coordonnées par les CROSS et surveillent 35% des plages du littoral depuis les postes de secours sur les plages, sous la responsabilité des maires des communes. 

Comment fonctionne DIAL en mer ?

partagez votre localisation avec les secours en cas de problème

1
Le porteur du bracelet DIAL est en difficulté, il déclenche une alerte

2
Les référents reçoivent l'alerte sur leur smartphone et la partagent avec les CROSS

3
Les CROSS localisent le porteur grâce à une interface dédiée

4
Les Sauveteurs en Mer interviennent rapidement pour secourir le porteur

DIAL s'adapte à toutes vos activités nautiques

DIAL a été pensé en priorité pour les activités nautiques dans l’approche littorale (petite plaisance, dériveur, planche à voile, kitesurf, stand‐up paddle, pneumatique et baignade) et pour la plage.

Découvrez nos ambassadeurs